Horoscope 101: Who’s Who


The “Who”, of course, is YOU ! Each individual Birth Chart is unique, even twins born as little as 5 minutes apart have slightly differing Charts. Each Chart represents the configuration of the Heavens at a certain date, day, place, and time. Your Birth Chart never changes and it represents the forces at work in the world at large as well as an individual’s inner world at the moment of birth. Your Birth Chart is a sort of ” Divine Blueprint” which can lead you to self-understanding. and serve as a guide to help you along the way as you travel through your life. 


For the “What” of Astrology we look to the Planets (the Sun and the Moon can be referred to as Planets as a means of simplification, they are also called the “Luminaries”). The Birth Chart is drawn as a circle, the circle of the Zodiac, and is Earth – centered, geocentric, with the Earth in the middle. Around the circle are placed the Planets, as they appear to be positioned around the Zodiacal Circle of the Heavens at the moment of birth. It does not matter if they are visible in the sky above the horizon at the moment and place of birth. Each Planet has its place in the Zodiacal Circle at all times, whether above or below the horizon. Each Planet has its own particular energy and sphere of influence. How each is expressed is determined by its position in the Zodiac and its position in relation to each of its fellow Planets. 


Sign Properties

The Signs

Principles Elements Qualities
M = Masculine F = Fire C = Cardinal
F = Feminine E = Earth F = Fixed
A = Air M = Mutable
W = Water

Example: FWM – Feminine, Water, Mutable = Pisces 


The “Where” of the Birth Chart are what are called the Houses. Like the Signs, there are always twelve successive Houses, but unlike the twelve Signs, under some systems used the Houses are not all of equal width. The Houses depict the “Where” of the Horoscope. They rule over the different areas, the different arenas which life on this world presents us with. They represent the stage upon which the Planets present their coloration, their energies. Here follows a brief description of each House and its domain: 

1st: beginnings, appearance, persona, the body, how we view life

2nd: values, resources (inner), possessions, resources (outer), what we desire

3rd: communication, siblings, conscious mind, short trips, early education

4th: home, property, foundation, parent, later life, endings, private life

5th: creativity, children, sports & speculations, love affairs, love you give

6th: health, unconscious mind, habits, work, service, hygiene, servants, pets

7th: partnerships & marriage, public relations, open enemies, others in general

8th: sex, death, taxes, partner’s resources, inheritance, regeneration

9th: philosophy & religion, super – conscious mind, long trips, law, in – laws

10th: reputation, profession, parent, status, authorities, responsibilities, ego

11th: goals, hopes & wishes, friends, love received, things beyond your control

12th: limitations, hidden enemies, frustrations, subconscious mind, hidden strengths 

The Houses, like the Signs, proceed counterclockwise, yet they are not fixed like the Signs are. The Houses’ positions are designated and derived by the degree of the Sign which is at the point of rising over the horizon. This rising point designates the beginning, or Cusp, as it is called, of the 1st House. Thus the Sign in which this Cusp of the 1st House falls is named the Rising Sign. It is also named the Ascendant, or Ascending Sign. The Ascendant is the third most important part of the Birth Chart, following only the Sign which the Sun is in (the Sun Sign) and the Sign which the Moon is in (the Moon Sign). Many of the major personal characteristics, inner and outer, are due to the direct influence of the Ascendant. Any Planet which lies in the 1st House, especially if it falls near the 1st House Cusp, has its effects strongly magnified. The point in the Chart which lies directly (180º) opposite the 1st House Cusp, or Ascendant, is the 7th House Cusp, also called the Descendant. Just as the Ascendant calls to mind the Self, the persona, self – image and personality, the Descendant shows us the type of people, partners and situations that we draw to us and to whom and which we gravitate towards. This is the Ascendant / Descendant Axis, the “I” versus “You” of the Birth Chart.  


Here we are at the “Why” of Natal Astrology, not “why” as in “Why am I an Aries?” or “Why is the Sky blue?”, but rather “Why” do two particular Planets interact the way that they do in your life, or “Why” some energies work well together while others always seem to be at odds with one another. We have looked so far at Planets, Signs and Houses, now let us take a look at what “glues” them together, the arcs of energy named Aspects. An Aspect, simply put is the degree of arc between Planets along the wheel of the Circle of the Zodiac. Different arcs denote different relationships between the Planets involved. Certain Aspects are considered harmonious while others are deemed to be incompatible or to indicate stress. Still, a so – called “harmonious” aspect can have its energies squandered or abused while so – called “stressful” aspects may be used advantageously to develop strength of character if approached with the proper mindset and manner required by them.

***** NOTE : The amount of degrees in an Aspect need not be exact, but only within the allowed deviation. That is the function and the purpose of the orb. It is the + or – amount of degrees acceptable in the acknowledgement of a given Aspect between two points of the Birth Chart. However, the closer to exact that the Aspect is the stronger its influence in the Chart will be.

Example Aspect:




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.